Christian Louboutin Inspired Red On Black

christian louboutin quote20140802_195422

While a girl can dream about her first pair of red bottoms, I decided to do a look inspired by the red on black signature Christian Louboutin.

This look is also a celeb favourite and is flattering on everyone!

angelina-jolie-the-oscars-academy-awards-2012-red-carpet-1-1330307474-view-0 Screen Shot 2014-08-11 at 11.59.18 PM

Get the Look:

Lips ~ Wet n’ Wild “Red Velvet” matte lipstick

Eyes ~ Since I was attending a nighttime event I did not leave the eyes completely bare but still kept them neutral so that the lips would stand out against the black jumper.

I used the “Too Faced Loves Sephora Palette”, which unfortunately was a limited time item. Maybelline eyeshadow quads have some great shades so one of those palettes could work just as well.

Sephora15_Composite

All the following Maybelline quads have similar shades: “Give me Gold (below)”, “Copper Chic” and “Sunset Seduction.”

images

From the Too Faced Palette I applied the bronze shade in the crease and for smudging the bottom lash line and water line, in which I used a black Rimmel pencil. I applied gold on the lid and inner tear duct and topped it all off with my favourite mascara Estee Lauder’s “Sumptuous Bold Volume And Lift” on the upper and the lower lashes.

Cheeks ~ As a blush and bronzer I used Smashbox’s “Smashbox Soft Lights (Dusk)” and theBalm’s Betty “Mary-Lou Manizer” to really highlight the cheekbones.

smashbox fusion soft lights dusk 1Screen Shot 2014-07-19 at 5.43.48 PM

Face ~ Rimmel “Stay Matte” primer, Revlon’s “Age Defying, Firming and Lifting Foundation” and Too Faced “Candle Light Powder” to set the makeup.

stay-matte-primer_product 81wFw3s8W5L._SX522_

Hair ~ I used the barrel of the Instyler as a wand to curl my hair away from my face for soft, flowy waves. A large barrel wand would give the same effect.

indexcortex-2-inch-wand

Divide your hair in two sections from the middle part. Curl both sides away from the face and finish off with a light hair spray for longer lasting waves. Tease at the crown to give some lift and Viola! Here are some more pics of the complete look.

20140802_19541820140802_195402

Cheers 🙂

11 thoughts on “Christian Louboutin Inspired Red On Black

    • I personally loveee it as a setting powder. I use it almost everyday!

      Some people find that it makes them a bit too “shiny”. For me it only looked so on the forehead “T” area. So I avoid that area and use it with a large, fluffy brush with minimal product and a light hand on the rest of the face.

      I do recommend it if you have normal to dry skin, however I have used it on a couple of clients with oilier skin. Check out my previous “Ethereal Moonlight-before and after” post.

      I avoided the forehead as it gets the shiniest the fastest. For that, a matte powder like the one from RImmel is great. And for extra shine control Rimmel’s Matte Primer under the foundation also works well, especially paired with their Matte powder.

      Tip: To avoid the “cakey”, overdone, heavy look use as little powder as possible to set your makeup.

      Hope this helps! And thank you for visiting! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

